New Member From New Jersey Eager to Learn and Act

14 Replies

Hey Everyone!

I am Antonio, and I came across BiggerPockets by reading Brandon Turner's book on investing in Rental Real Estate.  I want to get into real estate to be able to spend time with my family one day !  I am a software engineer and from Marlboro, New Jersey. If there are any meetups in the area I would like to attend them to learn more and meet new people who are also interested in rental real estate investing.  Any advice for a new beginner would help! 

Promotion
PropStream
Web + D4D Mobile App for you & the team!
Trusted Provider of Real Estate Data, Marketing, Skip Tracing & A
#1 Real Estate Software for Investors, Agents & Brokers to find leads and close deals nationwide.
7 Day Free Trial!

@Antonio Cucciniello

Welcome.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider the No Money Down book by Brandon Turner

http://get.biggerpockets.com/nomoneydown/

Paul

@Paul Timmins  

Thank you for the advice! 

No Money Down is next on my list, I just started The ABCs of Real Estate Investing.  I will add Book on Flipping Houses and the book of Estimating Rehab Costs up next!

I was looking to attend a couple of meetups but I will look into REIA club meetings!

@Antonio Cucciniello welcome to BP! There are many RE investor events, which you can find on meetup or through here. There is one in Totowa this Wed, next week in Union County and throughout the month in Newark and Jersey City.

Definitely keep learning and use this site to your advantage.

@Chris DePrima welcome as well! Where are you located?