New BP Member From Oxnard, CA...

4 Replies

Hello BiggerPockets!  My name is Jeff, and my wife and son & I live in Oxnard, CA.  It's so great already to have found this awesome community of like-minded folks, I can't tell you how excited I am!  I'm just at the very beginning stages of getting involved with real estate investment, so I will be doing a lot of reading on the forums/blogs and asking questions etc. but I am PUMPED to get started and for the entire journey!  

I currently have some limited experience in that we have owned a condo for the past 12 years that we originally lived in, but now rent out and get a pretty good positive cash flow from — so I have some experience as a landlord, however I want to take it to the next level.  My goal is to have 20 or so units over the next 30 years so that in retirement my wife and kids and I can live either off of the cash flow (hopefully most of them will be paid off by then) or liquidate my portfolio and invest that money into an even more passive, low-risk moderate-return investments.  So, needless to say I am most interested in the buy-and-hold rental properties avenue of investing.  I would love to have at least some multi-family units in my portfolio, if not going almost exclusively this route — I haven't quite decided yet.

Before this becomes a novel, let me again emphasize how excited I am to be here, and please feel free to reach out if you are in my area as I would love to initiate ongoing conversations with folks in my area that are in the process of achieving similar goals!  Thanks for reading, and I look forward to getting to know as many of you as possible!