Christopher Hughes
  • Virginia Beach, VA
Votes |
Introduction - Eager to learn!

Christopher Hughes
  • Virginia Beach, VA
Posted Aug 30 2016, 12:42

Hi all,

I am a 29 y/o male with a young family (a 2 year old and 5 month old). I bought my first house which my family lives in almost 2 years ago. I utilized a VA loan since I am a veteran and the loan is roughly $228k with the house being valued at $233k currently.

I am very eager to learn about REI (assuming this means Real Estate Investing, I've seen it used on the forums among numerous other acronyms). Between the wife and I, we earn a respectable income, at least for our area and we would like to begin to use some of additional income for some investment opportunities once we finish off her school loans in 18 months. My goal is to rent out the current home, my current mortgage including PMI is $1,248 and the rents listed on Zillow for my house as well as most of the others in my neighborhood are $1,500 +/-. I have refinanced the loan under the VRRL (I believe is the term) so I shouldn't be tied to living in the house and should be able to rent it. With that said, I need to look into if I am eligible to use the VA loan again since I used it but then refinanced to VRRL. If so, then that may be an option for a $0 down loan.

I plan to begin listening to the podcast ASAP and I just purchased "The Book on Rental Property" by Brandon Turner as well. I live in Virginia Beach and would be interested in pursuing a buy & hold strategy to generate long term passive income for my family and ultimately long term financial freedom. 

I've ready tons of threads on the forums already, primarily in the success section to see what I can glean from it. 

One popular strategy seems to be Buy, Repair, Rent and Refinance, if I am getting that right. I do have some questions about this though since I am new to it all.