Newbie from Canada looking to move to SE Florida

31 Replies

Hi all, I'm very excited to be part of this terrific community! Everyone on the forums are so helpful and friendly and I consider myself so lucky to have found BiggerPockets! 

My name is Katrina Poole, I'm a mom to two kids from Toronto, Canada. I am a clothing designer of kids' clothes and just recently I have found the love of Real Estate investing.  I got to know about the BiggerPockets community by starting to listen to the podcasts and now I'm hooked!! I have a lot of catching up to do (what is it 239 podcasts???). I listen to them daily sometimes 3x day. 

Tired of grey skies and long Canadian winters, my husband and I are looking to move to sunnier climates in Florida (West Palm Beach or Fort Lauderdale) and ideally purchase an investment property as a Short Term Rental. I have still so much to learn and can't wait to connect with many of you out there. Thanks for your time and have a great day! 

Hi Katrina. Welcome to BP! I live here in sunny Florida. I am an agent and also have investment properties in Fort Lauderdale. Let me know if you need any help.

Hello @Katrina Poole .  Congrats on your decision.

I would highly recommend visiting the area and getting a feel for WPB and FTL.  I would also HIGHLY recommend:

Jupiter/Juno Beach/Palm Beach Gardens

Delray Beach

Parkland/Coral Springs/Sunrise (Parland gets lots of mentions for schools, lack of crime, etc. but it's far from the ocean and you will see lots of gators)

Hollywood

Pompano Beach

Boca Raton

Wellington

Coconut Creek

Miami Beach (fashion)

That is a good sampling.  

Welcome to paradise,

Bob

Beautiful Juno Beach:

Hi Katrina,

I live in Fort Lauderdale currently and am actively investing. 

I would suggest staying north of 595 and look for investment properties between Fort Lauderdale and West Palm Beach. 

If you are looking for short term rentals, I would also suggest trying to stay east of I-95 if possible.