Newbie in Indianapolis,IN

7 Replies

Hi BiggerPockets community! I am a Southern transplant to the Midwest due to my current career. My wife and I have been in the Indianapolis area for about 4 years now and have really enjoyed our time in this great area. I have been researching getting into REI for several years but, have yet to pull the trigger due to what I still consider a "lack of knowledge".

I currently work for a Fortune 50 company as an Account Manager serving about 1/4 of the U.S.  I started my career as an R&D scientist before transitioning to the sales and marketing aspects of the industry. I currently spend a great amount of my time on the road negotiating with the management team of one of our largest customers. 

I am super excited about interacting with people from various areas of REI to help me get the ball rolling. I always spend a great amount of time researching and learning the best ways to approach any business opportunities. I can't wait to get started on a new this new opportunity here in Indianapolis. I have no problem putting in the work to help anyone else be successful in exchange for learning opportunities.

"It's never too late to start being the person you were always meant to be!"

@Jonathan Huff Welcome to Indianapolis. Glad to hear you've enjoyed it here. Do you have any specific investing goals or an idea as to what you would like to do once you are ready to jump in? Fix and flip? Buy and hold? Commercial? Syndication? Again, welcome. 

What are your goals at this point, Jonathan?  I think the podcasts are so great for learning and being inspired.  You also should check out the CIREIA meetings.  There is one main meeting per month and then 8 subgroup meetings where they delve more in-depth to specific topics such as landlording, rahabing, wholesaling, etc.  If you are looking to purchase a rental property the company I work with has some good off-market deals, and we also sell off the mls.  PM me if you want more info.