myrtle beach vacation rentals

7 Replies

Hi i'm new to this thinking of buying a vacation rental in myrtle beach i have about 70,000 cash and was wondering how many weeks a year the average house or condo rent need to cover my expenses thanks 

Rental quantity and quality vary depending on location, amenities, condition. A typical condo should rent from April-September with a peak in June/July.  

@James Judge From my experience, most people tend to rent out condos in Myrtle Beach. They are also reasonably priced but there is also the expensive HOA fees. Houses are a little more expensive, more prone to crime, require flood insurance and are not used as much as condos that have waterfront access.

However, Myrtle is still a very crowded area and I'm sure you would not have trouble renting it out either way!

Good luck!

Hi James,

My parents have rented out a condo in North Myrtle Beach for the past few years.  Oceanside, two bedroom and in March the rate was $1,000/month.  The rates do go up quite a bit starting in April and you can charge a much higher rate April-August (some parts of September as well).  Many places charge weekly in the summer and monthly in the winter.

Depending on where you bought a home, you may/may not have to pay for flood insurance.  You can look up the flood zones online or if you know of an area you're looking at, feel free to ask here and I'd be happy to help (I live in Myrtle Beach).