New member from Big Bear, CA

8 Replies

Hello, 

I am new to REI. I am interested in wholesaling, local tax lien sales and long-distance buy-and-hold opportunities. Currently, I work as an educator.

We just bought our first home in October 2017, and although it wasn't the best purchase ever, we did buy at a 14% discount based on comps in our neighborhood. We are tied for worst house in the neighborhood currently. Additionally, I was able to calculate accurate rehabbing costs due to my long ago affiliation with the trades of painting and landscaping, willingness to ask questions, and general DIY experience. 

To be honest, we mostly just relied on our long-standing affiliation with garage sales as our guide, since we had no idea about REI.

We are currently repainting the outside and installing landscaping which, when completed, given current valuations would give us an 80% LTV, while only having put together a 5% down payment of $12,000. Our total rehab costs will be around $15,000 and if appraised accurately, will allow us to access around $50,000 in equity (I am probably going to use Unison for this).

Fortunately, I have an uncle who is successful in buy-and-hold -- his advice has been valuable. Also, I have spent some time educating myself here at Bigger Pockets and via books sold on this site. I have discovered a real passion for finding deals and creative finance options.

This summer, I am going to research some areas of the rust-belt looking for buy and hold opportunities -- looking forward to that. 

Best,

Hello @Matt Pich-Maxon, welcome to BiggerPockets! It is great to have you and please feel free to jump in the community - there are certainly great people around here!

@Matt Pich-Maxon welcome, fellow Cali investor currently investing OOS.  Looking forward to seeing your first deal! I love Big Bear - if all goes well I will probably get a vacation rental out there.    :)

Thanks! @Dave Visaya I am looking forward to networking and learning here.