Newbie Introduction-Northern Utah

6 Replies

Hello Everyone! My name is Justin Norman. I am an investor in Northern Utah, specifically in Davis County. I currently have two Townhomes in Clearfield that I have been renting for 3 years now. These homes have been a great investment and I am wanting to get more aggressive about finding more deals. However, the market is much different now than it was 3 years ago. It has been much harder finding deals in my area. However, I know there are many around me who are having success finding these deals. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Justin, welcome to the BiggerPockets community! I'm not from Utah but I will agree that the competition is more fierce in the market right now. I would try just creating leads outside of the norm (away from the MLS). Such as finding non-owner occupied properties and sending letters out to them. Even if it doesn't get you a deal immediately, when the market turns south and the owners need to sell properties, your name will be the first one they remember. As long as your in the position to capitalize, this can be the striking point.

I'm personally wary of the current market. I'm from a smaller market in MD and the competition is getting larger than it should be. Investors are flooding into every market, due to the easy access to capital and free cash that many have. The market is strong right now but it is a cyclical game. 

@Benjamin Seibert Thank you for the welcome! I look forward to spending more time on these forums. I feel like it is a great place to learn different strategies. 

I appreciate your suggestion on sending letters to non-owner occupied properties. I like the idea of preparing myself in the best way for when the market takes a downturn. When you have done this in the past do you explore the rental listings in your areas and find contacts that way?