New member from South Shore Massachusetts

13 Replies

Hey everyone my names Sean Doherty, I'm from south shore Massachusetts and looking to buy my first rental property this summer.

Like many others, my goal is to reach early financial freedom through a buy and hold strategy focusing on small multifamily properties too start. I'm 27 and hope to retire from my current job by 40.  For now, I work as a Lineman for National Grid and consider myself very fortunate to make a good income doing what I do, I'm sure it'll help get me started quickly in real estate investing. I'm lucky enough to like my job, the work is interesting and challenging but takes up to much of my time, typically 50-60 hours a week at work and about an hour commute each way 5 to 6 days a week. My main reason for wanting financial freedom is to have more free time or at least be able to schedule my working hours around my other needs and wants.

When it comes to real estate investing I think my biggest hurdle will be lack of time and knowledge/experience. I have a good paying W2 job so I do not think money or acquiring financing for the properties I'm looking to buy will be an issue. I've focused my search mainly in Rhode Island because it seems to be a little cheaper to get started than mass but I am open to anything within an hour from the Bridgewater MA area. 

Thanks for reading my intro, I'm excited to meet the members of the BP community and think it will be an invaluable resource throughout my real estate investing journey.

@Sean Doherty Welcome to Bigger Pockets! There are a lot of great resources here including the entertaining and informative podcasts. Looking forward to hearing more from you and feel free to post to the forums when you have specific questions come up of course :)