Directional advice for a noob.

5 Replies

Wow!

The sheer volume of information on bigger pockets is both exciting and overwhelming.  I think I've been reading for days, and barely scratched the surface.  It sorta feels like I fell down Alice's rabbit hole, but in a good way.

Thank you, to Allison, the emails every couple of days with links to blog posts, are terrific.  It points me in the direction of interesting, informative articles that I could easily miss while wandering around here, getting distracted by all the different posts.

I'm new to this. I found bigger pockets by googling trying to find information on buying a quad using an FHA mortgage. I was, originally, looking for some security in the Denver market, where my rent is going up considerably faster than my paycheck, and with a disabled husband, limited means to generate additional income, the future was looking scary. You guys have given me a vision of what may be light at the end of the tunnel.

I have two possible scenarios for my FHA eligibility and I'm torn.

I have a lease option on my current residence, (townhome in Aurora).  I've been told that current market value is $175K.  My lease option is for $155K.  I am considering updating the townhouse, cosmetically, investing some cash (about $5K to play with) and a lot of sweat equity over the next 9 months, to see if I could get the value up closer to $200K, and then buy/sell and have some money for a step up.  Doing the remodeling while renting is a bit of a risk, but I'm currently paying $500 less monthly than I will be after I close so I'm thinking that might be justifiable.  My landlord is good with this.