New Investor from Marietta

6 Replies

Hey everyone!

I am brand new to real estate investing and have been listening to these podcasts every time I get in the car. To keep it brief, I'm a young investor looking to buy my first real estate investment in the Marietta, Kennesaw, Vinings, or Smyrna, Georgia area. My fiance and I are looking for a multi-family home (duplex-quadplex) where we can live in one unit and rent out the rest. If anyone has tips on how to start, where to find deals, and/or whether I should go with a 20% down traditional loan or a 3.5% FHA loan please reach out! Can't wait for the real estate journey to begin :)

Tyler

Tyler,

Welcome to BP! Thanks for contributing to the community with your first post. I like your idea of "house hacking" a duplex or larger multi-family complex (i.e. your "live-in-one-unit-and-rent-out-the-other(s)" plan). I think the best place for you to start is to continue to educate yourself through the different programs/blogs/articles on the BP site relating to house hacking, including the different financing methods (e.g. FHA, etc.). It seems like you've already started doing your due diligence, so keep it up!

Next, I would try to determine which market you want to be in (if you have the choice).  Check out BP's "Marketplace" for leads on different investment opportunities (https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/517-real-estate-marketplace?property_listings=true).  I've found this website very useful, particularly after filtering down to my geographical area and investment type.  In conjunction with your own searches, network with a local agent (you can probably find someone on BP) by e-mailing them or taking them for coffee.  With a good agent on your side, you're well on your way.

I stress the importance of teeing yourself up for success prior to swinging, because if done right, house hacking can be one of the best ways to launch yourself towards financial freedom.  You'll be there before you know it.

Best of luck!