No experience, no credit, and only 15k saved up. Any advice?

10 Replies

Hey BP, so glad I was able to come across this website. I'm 21yrs old & looking to build deeper relationships within the REI community near Tulsa, OK. I have no experience investing in real estate, but I'm educating myself daily to begin my REI career in the near future. I'm currently working a full-time job, and attending college part-time. I'm working to develop a stable, and passive income through real estate. I'm currently in the process of saving up for a down-payment on my first REI property, while educating myself about REI & developing relationships to help get me there.

Any tips on starting out in REI, or any advice at all is helpful!

God Bless.

You are on a good path but before you make a move keep educating yourself about what opportunities are going to best match your personality and the long term goals you have in mind. If you want to get into rentals consider doing some research on the BRRR strategy and start listening to podcasts from people who have mastered that. If you do it the right way you could have no money out of pocket on your deals!

@Joshua McMillen

Welcome to BP.  I agree with the comments above.  

If I was in your shoes, I would start going through the Biggerpockets podcast and webinar archive and finding episodes that our geared towards beginners and the tips for networking, building a core group of contacts, and learning the fundamentals of finding and analyzing deals.  The links below have a good short list of books to get you going and start narrowing in on your specific interests/strategy.