New Member from Toronto/Niagara Falls, Ontario

13 Replies

Hello everyone, My name is Joseph and I'm new to real estate investing or should I say I have known about real estate investing for a while but never took substantial action. I am excited to be in the company of people who are living the life and making progress. I'm also in the process of getting my realtor license. I'm looking forward to learning a lot from you all and forging and being a productive member of this community.

I am a software quality assurance manager in Toronto, ON and live in Niagara Falls(St Catharines) ON. I feel like there are tons of real estate investment opportunities around be but I have to clue how to take advantage of them. I'm looking forward to taking the big leap and doing the first deal in a few months.

Glad to be here once again!

Joseph O.

Hi @Joseph Ola ! Welcome to the BiggerPockets family! You came to the right place to learn all about real estate investing! Here are some recommendations for you:

Find and connect with other BP members that are in your area: http://www.biggerpockets.com/meet

Set up keyword alerts to be notified of the topics that interest you: http://www.biggerpockets.com/alerts

Read Beginner’s Guide: http://www.biggerpockets.com/real-estate-investing

Check out BP Podcasts: http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/category/podcast 

Welcome Joseph!  Sounds like you're on the right path.  Gain a bunch of knowledge on different methods, etc and keep looking at deals and crunching the numbers.  Prepare yourself and then be ready to pull the trigger.  A lot of the time the good deals don't last. I was in your similar position about 13 years ago.  My first deal was scarry but after that it was easier.  Good luck.

Wow! I am blown away by how active and welcome this community is. Thanks everyone for the warm welcome. @Marlon Fong . Thanks for the links. I'll check them out.