New to RE and BiggerPockets, looking to make connections & learn!

14 Replies

Hello,

I am brand new to BiggerPockets and the RE industry. I am very interested in multi-family and single-family homes, as well as apartment rentals. While I'm originally from Southeastern Connecticut, I currently am a full time student in Boston, MA and would preferably start my investing career in the Greater Boston Area. I am eager to make great connections and learn as much as I can about real estate. If anyone has any advice or good pointers for a newbie RE investor, please share your thoughts & opinions!

Thank you!

@Remy Bonser welcome to BP and the world of real estate investing! My best advice would be to start listening to some of the podcasts, read the blogs, interact on the forums, and be ready to learn. There’s a lot of good information out there and a lot of information period. Take some time to think about exactly what you want to do and what your goals are and study up on it. I may be biased, but in my opinion one of the best routes to go is buying a multi family home as a first purchase and occupying one of the units. You can likely live for free, or cheap, while building equity and gaining experience. That’s how I started and have no regrets. Best of luck in your real estate journey! Always happy to help with anything I can.

@DJ Richmond Thank you for your response and opinion! I have been researching multi family homes and the benefits to doing exactly what you said (living in one unit and renting out the other units). I'm glad your experience in it went well, it is encouraging to hear about the success in that area the positive feedback! Very appreciated.

@Remy Bonser Another great resource is the book from BP, Set For Life by Scott Trench. (Page here)