New Guy in McAllen Texas

12 Replies

Just stopping in to say hi to anyone else down in the Rio Grande Valley. I'm pretty new to this whole thing, and I wish I would have found BP before buying my first property. I've been learning a ton through the forums and the podcasts, so a huge thank you to all of you guys who are willing to share your knowledge! 

Welcome to BP. 

I moved from McAllen almost 2 years ago and currently own a rental home there. I’m looking to acquire another property in the RGV or a short term rental in South Padre. Like you, I have been learning a lot from this forum.

Hi Rene! I live in McAllen as well. I am also have a couple of rentals and am always looking to acquire more. I have my license and a small real estate brokerage so we should meet up. I can get you set up with MLS auto alerts and I'm wanting to move more into "off market" properties, like divorce, elder and notice of defaults. I had a 4plex in Edinburg I held for 5 years but recently sold because the 4plex market was pretty hot and I knew I had some capital expenses coming up - roof, AC, etc. So now I own a little house in the historic area of McAllen and we just bought an office building for our operation and we are renting space out. We did a 1031 exchange to acquire that from the 4plex funds. I'd love to talk to you about the local market and since I can get into the MLS I can provide you with any comps you might need. I also have a list of reliable vendors so don't hesitate to ask!

Rene, 

We also did a short term rental in SPI recently. Send me a message if you have any questions or want to talk about some lessons learned. 

Kasey, 

Nice to see someone else from McAllen on here! Is your house in the historic district a rental? I've combed the area, but seems like I may have been late to the party as a good portion of the homes seem to be renovated. 

Hi everyone,