​New military investor in Fort Hood, Texas

13 Replies

I'm Cody from West Palm Beach, Florida. I was an Army brat, and my family moved around growing up. My wife, Carrie, and I are high school sweethearts. We got married after I graduated from the United States Military Academy at West Point, NY. I'm currently a Captain in the U.S. Army and a Black Hawk helicopter pilot.

I'll be moving to Fort Hood this month and am looking forward to the prospect of establishing a real estate portfolio during my time there. In the meantime, I'm consuming as much Bigger Pockets books/podcasts/webinars as possible!

My goal right now is to invest in MFHs to generate passive income that matches my military salary within 3 years.

Welcome to BP @Cody W. ! I just left Hood almost two months ago. I’ve been stationed there three times over the years. You’ll find plenty of MFP’s in all the neighboring cities. 

Keep digging into all that BP has. When I drove up to Knox I was listening to podcasts the whole way. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions about the area. 

@Cody W. - whatever cash flows but if I had a preference I’d go with Cove first. Each city has some not so good areas but for the most part the neighborhoods in Cove are better than similar ones in K-town. I’ve also lived in Cove twice, Killeen, and Nolanville. You can find winners in good neighborhoods in each city too. 

So allan are you saying go where the money is :) ? I guess at the end of the day it doesn't matter where you look as long as your comfortable with the area do your research and buy right you'll be good.

@Markian Sich I hope it doesn't sound too lofty! Right now I'm looking to use own money and private lending. I'm open to partners as well. Syndication seems a bit mysterious and advanced for me. I feel like maybe I should get my feet underneath me before I go for something like that.

I'd be interested in hearing more about Active Duty Passive Income by the way!