Introductions. Newbie starting out in pnw

7 Replies

Hey all out there in BP land! Name is Andrew Shipley. Recently became obsessed with the idea of real estate investing about half a year ago. Live in portland oregon. Would like to invest in surrounding areas. Would like to rehab using the brrrr method on small family units to grow some equity and capital, then air bnb smaller units in the inner city area. Currently working with an investor/contractor on rehabbing an old historical building into micro units. Very exciting! I would like to buy property within the next 6 months. Looking for hard money lenders and any advice on the portland metro area. Handy man by trade and would be happy to help out any way I can just to connect with people in my area. Thanks all!

Hey Andrew, 

Welcome to BP! Sounds like you’re on your way! Where are the micro units? I’m really interested in seeing how this idea continues to play out against the backdrop of Portland’s housing issues. 

I think you’ll find lots of great connections here, don’t be afraid to ask questions...

One word of caution, do your due diligence before putting any money towards AirBnB in Portland. The city has some real specific rules about operating them and they’re not really investor friendly. Those that navigate it can make a ton of money, just prepare yourself for a few hurdles!! 

Good luck!

Mathew 

@Andrew Shipley way to jump in and get started.  Converting old homes is not easy when dealing with commercial code, and I'm assuming the micro units project would fall into commercial code (3+ units). That's a great to cut your teeth. You should learn a lot. I'm curious, what part of town is this project and how many units are you creating?