First Timer in Oakland

13 Replies

Hello BP,

Was looking for a bit on advice on my intro into real estate.

I am a 35, married with a baby living in Oakland, CA. I have no debt and enough money to make an initial investment in a property. I have a good paying job that I enjoy, so looking to invest while doing my full time job. Possibly working towards a more full time thing. I am currently renting.

I am interested in multi-family to buy and to live in Oakland.

I have 8 years experience as a carpenter in a previous life. I’m not going to be remodeling everything myself but thought its good to align my life experiences with my foray into entrepreneurship.

Couple of questions,

I am not loaded. I have enough money to scrape together a downpayment on a single property. Is investing in a single expensive market like Oakland make sense or would I over-expose myself? Should I look to invest elsewhere and continue to rent here?

@Michael Cornell how much rent are you paying? My advice would be to find a tri/quad plex and buy it with as little down as possible. If you buy it right your tenants should cover the mortgage and expenses.

Since you’ll no longer have a rent expense, you can save that money monthly and build your savings again. In a few years you should be able to buy more property.

Account Closed I am currently paying $2525 in rent. And that plan you are laying out is essentially what I'm thinking I should do. I just have a lot of knowledge to catch up on.  I want to buy right and have a solid investment, but realize that first investment will probably be a little bit like pioneering. Saj, I see you are from Oakland as well. Any tips or resources to help me take that jump? I am currently in soaking up information stage. Going through BP's 20 steps. The next step is starting to look at properties (just to get an idea of the area) and getting my team together.