Healthy foundations for financial freedom

8 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm Wyatt and I'm new to biggerpockets. I live in Fort Collins, Co and I'm super excited about starting down the path of financial freedom and independence.

I first became interested in financial freedom when I got my new job and the raise that followed. I didnt know what to do with it as it was such a different wage than what I was used too. I knew I should save but I didnt know how much and I wasn't very consistent with it. Finally my brother told me about the book that started it all "The Richest Man in Babylon" by George Clason.

After listening to it on audible 5 times I branched off and got more book ideas from my brother. I've read some of the "rich dad" series as well as "think and grow rich" and soon "the 4 hour work week". But I find myself wondering and often planning my years to come with the knowledge that I've gathered.

My standing questions is, How do I start my foundation? I've heard you should always have at least 6 months of reserves in case anything happens and you can't work. Well I've started that and my end of the year goal will be to have finished that. But then what?

I laid out a 5 year plan that will begin next year and the first thing on my to do list is gain 500 dollars in passive income monthly from non realestate assets. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? Has anyone done this before? I'm currently doing youtube but that's taking a bit slower than I thought it would so I was wondering if anyone has found success in other non realestate assets.

Thank you in advance, I look forward to the conversations.

Welcome to Bigger Pockets! I'm a real estate agent and investor in Massachusetts and I'm moving to Fort Collins this coming October. I too am looking forward to getting into the real estate community and hopefully getting additional investment properties under my belt!