Jumping Back In Charlottesville VA

5 Replies

My name is Dan. I am 50 years old and live in the bucolic college town of Charlottesville Virginia. I am an emergency physician and know that I don't want to do shift work forever although I do enjoy patient care. I bought my first house in 2000 and when we sized up (and into town) 5 years later we kept the first house and rented it out. Then in 2008 I bought a duplex in town. Both of them cash flowed $200/month for the house and $50 per door for the duplex and we managed them ourselves.

Fast forward 4 years and I got separated and heading for divorce. It was not amicable and was financially devastating. Both properties had to be sold (at a significant profit) and much of this money went to my lawyer. Now I'm happy to say I have come out on the other end a happier man. I am remarried to the most amazing woman a guy could have. I have loved real estate since my early days as a landlord and am looking to buy some rental properties

Welcome to the fold Dan, I'm a new investor in the C-ville area and would like to meet other like minded people, and chat about real estate!

...at the moment I'm overseas attached to a ship in Guam, but I should return in a couple months and I hope to get back into it.

Cheers!

Dan, I am currently investing in the Charlottesville and surrounding area.  I focus primarily on multi family buy and hold investment properties.  I would be interested in looking into deals with someone who likes to get renter into the properties and manage them.  I also manage a construction company so I am use to getting subs in to fix issues and renovate properties.  I currently have 6 units in Louisa county and 2 units out of state.  If you are interested in chatting and seeing if we may be on the same page the hit me up and IM me.