A Big Hello from Santa Rosa, California

12 Replies

Hi BiggerPockets,

I live in California's beautiful North Bay aka California's Wine Country. I grew up in Southern California (mostly Encinitas) and I've spent most of my adult life in Northern California. I'm new to REI. My experience in real estate goes back over a decade when I was living in the East Bay (Oakland). I took a job as the "on-site resident manager" in a 24 unit apartment building. At the time I felt like I wasn't getting a good deal but a discount on the rent was something at least. Now, I know I was getting nowhere near the 8-12% property managers charge. I was getting 1% and I was skimming the pool. After my lease was up, I moved into another rental thinking property management wasn't for me. Even though I didn't mind the work it just didn't pay enough. If only I'd read Rich Dad, Poor Dad then!

Fast-forward to today and I’m reading, listening, learning and starting to the make connections, so I can make my first deal. Since I live in a particularly expensive part of California I’m looking out of my home state for investments. After researching several areas in the midwest and south I decided on MIlwaukee, Wisconsin! So, say hello if you’d like to connect.

Thanks,

Justin

-----

I’ll be posting updates here as things progress. 

Hey Justin!

Awesome that you are getting into investing now! I am also from California and investing in a few midwest areas (including MKE). Would be happy to connect and hear why you choose Milwaukee. 

Jonathan 

Hi Jonathan,

Several reasons, like easy access to background info on tenants and the it's bulk foreclosure program.  Also, I have to thank BP member Dawn Anastasi for writing a great book on investing in the area.

Originally posted by @Justin Thompson :

Hi Jonathan,