Newbie in Syracuse, NY area

7 Replies

Hi. My name is Ed Francis and live in the Syracuse, NY area. I currently work in the Information Technology department for one of the companies.

I'm new to real estate and started listening to the Bigger Pockets podcasts a few months ago when my friend who is a landlord and owns several properties told me about it. After listening to the podcasts and talking to my landlord friend about his real estate experiences, I became more interested in real estate. One of the main reasons why I want to do real estate is because after losing my job last because to a merger, I wanted to have another way to provide for my family and to reach financial independence one day.

My goal is to become a buy and hold investor, buying duplexes and multi-families in my area and possibly out of state. 

Welcome, Edward! You're in the right place - so many of us look at real estate as a way to minimize the uncertainty we feel in our day jobs. Knowing you have multiple streams of income makes work challenges just a little easier to manage.

So glad you've already plugged into the podcasts - just a wealth of information there that helped me so much when I started out - and honestly, it still does today. 

Best of luck on your journey and look forward to following your successes!

Hey Edward! I'm in Syracuse as well! I learned about BP recently and am in the process of closing on my first property.

There are a lot of opportunities in the Syracuse area depending on what you're looking for. 

A good way to get connected would be to look up @RobSawyer on BP and attend his events. They are hosted on the first Tuesday evening of the month (I believe). 

Good luck out there and hit me up if you want to connect or have any deals to talk about!