Book Recommendations for Spouse?

15 Replies

Hello everyone,

I am new to Bigger Pockets and to real estate investing. My plan is to focus on the three areas I know best: Metro Detroit, Huntsville, Alabama and Metro Washington, DC. I'd love to connect with anyone interested in any of these areas! Initially my wife and I plan on BRRRR'ing single-family homes and eventually scaling up to multi-family.

Here's my question:  I am an attorney and, by my nature and my profession, am pretty analytical.  I'm using various books, online resources and the Bigger Pockets podcast (half way done!) as a road map of how I intend on analyzing deals.  My wife, however, is in advertising and is more of a "right brain" person who is more creative and artsy. 

We want my wife to be equally involved in our new side-hustle, so are there any introductory type of books that you would recommend to help my wife get in the right mindset for running a real estate business?

Thanks in advance and I look forward to meeting some of you!

Kevin

@Kevin Mulvaney

Obviously every relationship is different, but I tried to get my wife listening to podcasts, books, etc, but eventually could tell she just wasn't that interested.  She has a full time job and we have 3 kids, so I found other things she enjoyed about real estate to get her involved (and talked about it constantly).

For example, I found she loves looking through the MLS and driving for dollars together, so I really latched onto that. I'm sure you both have strengths that you can leverage to have different roles in the business. Despite me being the active partner in our business, I also used a tip from the podcasts and started giving her a bonus once a deal was done. I've done that twice now and she's loves it despite being a fairly frugal person.