Looking to build my real estate team

7 Replies

Hello BP community! My name is Zac, I am a new investor living in the Houston, TX area. I am looking to get going and think that a great starting point is to develop a team before hand as suggested by Brandon Turner. What is the best way to go about building that team? I also have found that my largest gaps are in finding a deal, estimating repair costs, and estimating expenses. I've read books and listened to podcasts but was looking for a more involved way to fill these knowledge gaps. Any tips? Please chime in. Thanks!

I'd be interested in getting in on your quest. I'm a newbie as only have 1 deal so far and don't understand the payouts to date nothing in 5 months. I need to know after reading the investment package how to read into the potential passive income. I have funds to do a few deals but don't want to be burned again and have my funds tied up for 3-5 years without any income. 

@Theresa Velazquez

I am in the process of acquiring my first deal. What sort of analysis did you do before your first deal? I'd be interested in seeing how your estimates for repair cost, expenses etc panned out with actual numbers. That could give insight on where/how you can improve on your next deal. Did you work with an agent or mortgage broker?

@Faraad Mohamed Thanks for the opportunity! For me personally, I am more interested in being more involved in the process for at least my first deals. This is because I'm trying to build a baseline understanding and knowledge of REI. After learning some lessons, good or bad, I would entertain more the idea of services you have described.

You're welcome! To directly answer your question regarding building a team, help finding a deal, estimating rehab costs, holding costs, and other expenses: