Votes
Lance Blight
  • Homeowner
Votes |
New Investor moving to Chicago

Lance Blight
  • Homeowner
Posted Jul 9 2019, 18:03

Hello everyone! I am a 20-year-old pilot who is currently living in Traverse City, MI, originally from Flint, MI. I'm about to finish college, and I'm looking to move to Chicago. Depending on which job I take out of school, that could be as soon as 3 months, or as much as a year and a half. My journey to BP started on Reddit. I'm an avid follower of financial independence blogs, which then brought me to real estate investing. My goal right in the next 5-7 years to have a multi-family home that I live in and rent part out, as well as a property located in a beach town that I can AirBnB and use as I please.

My first purchase will most likely be the multi-family home which I can then "house hack." I'm not a huge fan of roommates, especially people I don't know, but don't think I'd mind a multi-family home since I've had to deal with apartment/dorm living all of college and it isn't that bad. I'd love a home with a 1/1 or possibly 2/1 for me, and then another unit or two to rent.

I'm going to have roughly $25,000 for a down payment on an FHA or traditional mortgage, leaving about $10,000 left over for any major problems that come up. I'll keep that extra $10,000 for any problems, but ideally, the unit I'll be renting will be turnkey; renovations on mine are ok. What worries me though is that some of the price points just don't make sense. I know that some deals don't even make it to the MLS, but the rent prices just don't make sense compared to the purchase price.