New to Bigger Pockets! :)

14 Replies

Hello, my name is Emi and I'm new to BiggerPockets :)  I'm a stay-at-home mom who knows nothing about real estate, but I've recently started listening to the BP podcast everyday, taking webinars, reading their books, analyzing at least 2 potential rental properties everyday by using Brandon's 4 Square Method to calculate costs and see if it's possible to get close to a 12% COCRoi (is that the right term?) - and I've been trying to learn all the lingo - which is basically a different language to me.  :P   (but really fun!)

I really value the forum on BP and appreciate everyone being so helpful to each other! I've just started researching the BRRRR method, and it's amazing when people share their stories - both good and bad experiences - bc we learn from both.  ;)  SO THANK YOU!!!

I recently got my husband to start listening to the podcast, as well (Yay!). 

We live in California, but our dream is to eventually live in Portland in a cute bungalow house! :P  We really want to invest in Portland but the market still seems high.  I was just curious to know if there are other people like us waiting for a particular market they want to get into?  I totally understand we could be waiting for a couple more years, but while we wait - I'm trying to educate myself as much as possible.  We do have 1 rental unit in Oakland (Temescal area) - a condo we used to live in... but then we bought a house, had a baby, all that good jazz :)  

I'm currently reading David Greene's Long-Distance Real Estate Investing book, which I love! :)  Anyway, I just thought I would pluck up the courage to say hello and introduce myself. :)

(I'm still learning to navigate the website so I hope I posted this right...)

Hi @Aaron Belt   Thank you so much! :) Yes! I'm discovering the forums have a wealth of knowledge in them, and I appreciate hearing about other people's experiences. The free webinars are really cool too! It beats paying a guru my life savings :P