New homes in New Braunfels, TX

9 Replies

I'm new to investing, and looking to purchase a brand new SFR home to rent out in one of the developing subdivisions of New Braunfels. What are some things I should consider when I decide on a purchase?

It's not likely you will get any equity capture purchasing a new home.  Also not likely you will even meet the 1% rule with your rents.  Why are you looking at new builds?  Plenty of good housing stock in New Braunfels that can be purchased and leased gaining you instant equity, decent cash flow and better appreciation. 

Intriguing, where would you look? I want to be in a good neighborhood that will be in a higher appreciating area when the population starts to rise. 

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor

I agree with Seth.  However, New Braunfels tends to have more expensive real estate.  Are you interested in something outside of that area? I just got a contract on a very clean rental closer to San Antonio.  

I was interested in New Braunfels for the lower price point and because there is a lot of development going on. But I would be open to San Antonio area.

@Brandon Kingcaid I actually live in NB and it is a more expensive market. As Seth mentioned, you aren’t likely to get any real equity on a new build. You can find a few opportunities if you look around but I’ve found the NB tends to be higher priced. You can likely get better returns on rental properties as you go towards SA. I don’t do much in NB because prices are a bit higher and thus risk and return on time and $ spent isn’t where I like to be.