Buying my first rental property

14 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to finally introduce myself to the bigger pockets community. I am a mechanical engineer working in San Diego and looking to buy my first long term buy and hold rental property to get some cash flow! Looking for a simple property to force myself in the game and learn the initial process before getting into possibly more complicated deals. I have been doing research for months and decided to make a goal to buy a property by the end of the year. So I have my work cut out for me! 

Things I would love help with and/or if anyone has someone they would recommend:

1) Looking for an accountant

2) Buying the house under an LLC or my name for tax purposes.

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I would love to connect with all of you! 

-Sean

Welcome @Sean Abrahamsen

Have you read How to Invest in Real Estate? It will help you figure out Question 2. And are you already working with an accountant in your area? I only ask because they may have additional recommendations for Question 2. 

Welcome! Those are great questions, but probably better suited for the accountant and attorney you end up working with. Depending on how you structure your business, it's likely that the owner of the property (either you or your LLC) will not impact the tax benefits in any way. Entity structure at the level you are talking about is really a way to legally separate your personal assets from your business assets.

Beyond that, I'm happy to help you get the ball rolling in any way you need. Feel free to reach out. Best of luck!

Originally posted by @Jeremy Goodman :

Welcome @Sean Abrahamsen! 

Have you read How to Invest in Real Estate? It will help you figure out Question 2. And are you already working with an accountant in your area? I only ask because they may have additional recommendations for Question 2.