Newbie from Louisville, KY Area

23 Replies

Good morning! My name is Alex Prestigiacomo and my girlfriend and I currently live in Jeffersonville, IN. I'm 26 years old and looking to BRRRR our first property in the Louisville, KY or Southern, IN area. I work in Louisville, KY in automotive sales and through a little bit of luck and hard work I've been able to pay off all of my debt and save money for a downpayment on a property.

My goal is to find a 2-4 unit property that needs mostly cosmetic repair (floors, paint, landscaping). Ideally, I’m searching for something that can cash flow and provide cash on cash return of at least 10%. I’m still very new to this so I’m not sure how realistic my goals are.

I am however looking forward to learning more and finally getting involved in the local real estate community!

Thanks, 

Alex

Congrats on paying off all your debt, that is huge! I've got a few multifamily units coming up, but not sure they are an exact fit! I might have a good duplex on W Chestnut that might fit the bill! I'll reach out to my client. 

Hey @Alex Prestigiacomo,

Welcome to BP! I'm a huge fan of this tight-knit community and BP's content (books, podcasts YouTube channels etc.) is some of the best around. As far as investing, I did something similar to what you're looking to do. I purchased a 4-plex in Old Louisville in November 2018 which I'm currently "house-hacking". It's been a great experience thus far and I plan on using the same strategy to purchase my next property in the coming months.

Have you attended any local real estate investor meet-up groups to establish relationships with local investors? If not, I highly encourage you to do so. One of the most popular groups, R.E.I.A (Real Estate Investor Association) has chapters in most major cities. Our local chapter has over 250 members, many of whom are extremely active in the market and have a wealth of knowledge they're willing to share.