• Real Estate Agent
  • Salem, OR
Votes |
Oregon Investor with some great info!

Oscar Cardenas
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Salem, OR
Posted Dec 11 2019, 20:58

Hello everyone! My name is Oscar Cardenas and I am an investor and Realtor in Oregon. I currently own a duplex in Silverton, OR and am in the process of acquiring my next BRRRR in Albany, OR. I am here to introduce myself and give some nice current info that hasn't seemed to hit a lot of people yet.

First a bit of background. I have been listening to the podcast for a while but only recently started coming to the site.

I started my Real Estate journey straight out of High School right as the crash was hitting hard in 2007 with my first job being an administrative assistant in a real estate law office mostly handling evictions and collections. This being in San Bernardino, CA which declared bankruptcy. At the time this small office was handling 1000 evictions a month... fun... even had a guy come up to the office with a shotgun once.

after 3 years of working there I started College and was majoring to get an associates in Real Estate. A semester before finishing I switched to Robotics Engineering thinking I could get a nice wage as an engineer and invest on the side. 2 semesters before getting my B.S in Mechatronics in Cal State Chico, I got forced out of school due to financial aid being cut because undocumented students had a time limit of 2 years with financial aid that I did not know about in California. I had a 3.6 GPA at the time. 

Having my future career taken away, I started car washing to support my wife through school while she got her Masters in Electrical Engineering and B.S in Physics. She graduated a year later and we moved to Oregon in Jan 2018.