New Investor in Phoenix Deer Valley

6 Replies

As mentioned above, I live in Deer Valley and would like to become a real estate investor. I've bee listening to more and more podcasts and gaining interested in investment strategies and opportunities. I am working full time as an engineer but learning real estate in my free time. I am currently interested in house hacking a single family home and renting to colleagues and friends. I have already contacted a mortgage broker, real estate agent, and cpa. I am considering creating an s corp or llc for the property to utilize the limited liability and tax benefits, but I'm not sure if that would be better than a traditional house hack.

I've been researching various options for a couple months and gathering information from the above sources but I wanted to get another opinion on my options.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Monty B.

@Monty Bruckman

Welcome to BP! Sounds like you are on the right path and educating yourself. House hacking is a great way to get started. Come out to some of the local meetups and rub elbows with some like minded individuals. Hope to see you around!

An LLC is a great way to protect your personal assets from being used to satisfy rental debts. You may not have to choose between LLC and house hacking, either. If your lender will allow you to put your primary residence in an LLC (or if you can refinance to the LLC), you can then house hack by renting to roommates under the LLC. Check with your lender and CPA to confirm this will work in your particular situation. There are some issues with claiming the Section 121 exclusion (for tax-free profits from the sale of a personal residence), but this can be avoided if you have a single-member LLC that is disregarded as an entity for tax purposes.