Delayed Introduction - Massachusetts REI

11 Replies

Good morning BP! 

I'm Adam and I've dipped in and out of these forums for the last few years with no serious intentions. Late last year I decided to buckle down and learn this stuff, so here we are. During the day I'm a full time Sales Manager for a domestic, independent manufacturer of plastic houseware products and on the side I'm a budding Real Estate Investor in north central Massachusetts.

Today my portfolio consists of zero doors. My intent is to add six over the next three years. My focus is on buying/holding 2-3 unit multi-family buildings in old New England mill towns that need minor or cosmetic repairs but not major reconstruction. I prefer buildings with units at or above 800 sq/ft, and a minimum of 2/1, ideally 3/1 or 3/2. I'm looking to connect with agents, attorneys, property managers and contractors local to north central Mass and of course, other like minded individuals in the greater BP community. 

Looking forward to the conversations!

@Adam Saball What Steve says has been true in my experience in the Leominster area -- tenants who've lived in a unit for 10, 15, or 20 years. I think people get comfortable and likely don't have the means to purchase a home of their own. This also means that those units haven't been updated in a loooong time. Perfect recipe for a value-add investor (pay attention to the deferred maintenance on the building as a whole). As for increasing rents, you'll want to match your increases to the increases in expenses (inflation) at a minimum, so think 3% or more. You can also raise rents if the property you purchase as M2M tenants, no leases. You'll want to strike a balance between what's fair for you and them if you want to keep them. If not, fix 'em up and raise rents to hit your numbers. Let me know if you'd like a referral to a broker/PM with extensive experience in the area, or if you're all set.