• Investor
  • Laguna Hills, CA
Votes |
NEW MEMBER SELF INTRODUCTION

Darwin Mickelson
  • Investor
  • Laguna Hills, CA
Posted Feb 14 2013, 03:20

HELLO fellow Bigger Pockets Colleagues. I'm hoping that this is the right area to post a new member introduction. Joshua pointed me here, so there must not be a separate forum for just introductions. If there is, please someone alert me. I apologize if I am messing up this column with an inappropriate post

I'm a newbie from Southern California (Laguna Hills, CA), but my investing interest has been mostly in Georgia, Arkansas and Florida. I grew up in the midwest (South DAkota) and moved to California to attend college and eventually to practice chiropractic for about 20 years in La Habra, CA.

Starting in 2006, I was inspired by a now famous road sign "Real Estate Investor seeks apprentice". I had the naivety to believe that some benevolent benefactor was going to take me under his/her wing and show me how to do the business. I soon found out that the marketing statement didn't exactly match up with the situation. I have had, however, numerous quality courses in different aspects of real estate, but have been slow to create partnerships or mentors to personally guide me in how to most safely and quickly profit from real estate investing. I did end up buying two out of state properties which I lost within 2 years due to my poor long distance management of my tenants and failure to control the quality of my renters.

More recently, I've taken an interest in Tax Delinquent properties and am currently working at Jack Bosch's "Hidden Tax Sale Cash" program, but have been unsuccessful at landing a deal with that focus yet. I like Jack a lot and his rags to riches immigrant story impressed me, but I would sure like to make some of my rags turn into riches with some consistency, if you know what I mean. LOL