Start an LLC in California

10 Replies

I am a newbie and I am planning on investing in real state and starting fix and flip, and buy and hold. Currently I live in San Francisco, California. Any suggestions/recommendations on how to set up my LLC in California before getting into the weeds. Do I need to get it done through a lawyer? Many Thanks!

@Sipan Y. It's up to you, and your situation. If it is very generic, and there is not much to do, LegalZoom is a quick down and dirty way to get it done. If you are going to partner in that LLC with another investor/person you know, then for sure get it drafted by a lawyer because they will get you a bulletproof operating agreement and that is what you want in an LLC that is a partnership. Legalzoom cannot give you something super in depth where if the partner or you step out of the LLC they can turn around sue you, or take the whole business.

So, LLC that is for one rental, or maybe two rentals use legalzoom all day. An LLC that will be used for flipping, JV, partnerships, or a lot properties use an attorney.

@Sipan Y. If you have to ask, then yes you need a lawyer, and possibly an accountant. The lawyer and accountant will came at the question from different perspectives, legal and liability vs taxation.

But do you even need an LLC? A lawyer can advise you on this but may simply say to get one so he will get the fee for creating one. I suggest you read here and also check out the books by Nolo Press. They have books on creating your own LLC. I am not suggesting necessarily that you create one yourself, but you should be aware of the issues and questions that come up over the issue.

@Sipan Y.

There are several considerations that can go into the analysis of whether you need an LLC or whether a large insurance policy will suffice. Will depend on several factors like the type of property, type of tenants, your risk tolerance, other assets you own, your estate planning, laws where the property is located, etc.