Florida rental investing

26 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets community!

We live in Renton, WA, but have lots of family in the Tampa/Clearwater area and have been there many times. In 2018 we will be intensely focused on building a passive income portfolio in Florida. Areas we're currently considering are Tampa/Clearwater and Jacksonville.

We're looking to partner with local agents, wholesalers, lenders and property managment companies. Any great recommendations?

Primary focus at this point is SFRs up to a four-plex for a buy-and-hold. The eventual goal is to purchase 5+ unit MFRs.

Thanks!

~ Jonathan & Christine

Still looking for some Tampa/Jacksonville agent rec's. Thanks

Jonathan, 

You've got your sights on two great areas. I'm an agent in the Jacksonville area, but plan on investing in the Clearwater area down to road. I've got a few lender and PM company recommendations for you in Jacksonville. PM me if you're interested!

Unfortunately I'm too new to give you great recommendations but my past year of searching has taught me that, if you aren't tied down to a particular area, South St.Petersburg is a great place to start. I have bought a few SFR's in Tampa but have been looking in Clearwater, St.Pete, Plant City, and Wesley Chapel. Inventory in Tampa is getting up there in price (everybody wants to flip in Seminole Heights) but St.Pete consistently has solid SFR's in the sub-100K range. Watch out for flood insurance requirements (that is a real kicker) and know that one or two blocks can make a HUGE difference in South St.Pete. The northern part is definitely better (and thus more expensive) but it is starting to trickle down south. If they weren't 45 minutes from my house or I wasn't self-managing then I would be focusing on that area.