THE WORST CLIENTS FOR A MORTGAGE BROKER ARE...

3 Replies

As a Florida Mortgage Broker, I can say that hands down, and other Mortgage Brokers these days will agree, the worst borrowers are:

1. Prior Mortgage Brokers

2. Current and prior Realtors

Why Prior Mortgage Brokers?   Because they have just enough irrelevant and inaccurate knowledge of a time that no longer exists to cause non-stop issues from start to finish...and like a parrot, constantly remind you that they used to be in the business.

Why Realtors?  Besides being the most uncooperative borrowers they have just enough sporadic knowledge about mortgages to cause non-stop issues from start to finish. 

With a few exceptions, you can count on any deal you take on for these two is going to be a 5 times as hard as they argue with you the entire way and saying...."that's not how I used to do it when I was in the business!"

Steve McRory, Lender in FL (#360492)
888-662-4404

I'm pretty sure this is true in any industry. Worst patients are doctors. Worst patrons are waiters/waitresses, etc. etc.

Actually that last one may be the exception that proves the rule. Once you have waited on tables you tend to be a lot more understanding I've found.

This post has been removed.

Originally posted by @Steve McRory :

As a Florida Mortgage Broker, I can say that hands down, and other Mortgage Brokers these days will agree, the worst borrowers are:

1. Prior Mortgage Brokers

2. Current and prior Realtors

Why Prior Mortgage Brokers?   Because they have just enough irrelevant and inaccurate knowledge of a time that no longer exists to cause non-stop issues from start to finish...and like a parrot, constantly remind you that they used to be in the business.

Why Realtors?  Besides being the most uncooperative borrowers they have just enough sporadic knowledge about mortgages to cause non-stop issues from start to finish.