Chicago REI - Boon Zones

9 Replies

I am always on the lookout for neighbourhoods in the Chicago area with great long term potential. I want to acquire a few units for speculation to pass on to my children when I eventually kick the bucket. 

Are you, biggerpockets Chicagoans, aware of any neighbourhoods that you believe will appreciate more than others? And for what reasons do you believe they will appreciate?

Northside: I like Edge water and  Rodgers Park.

South Side: Fuller Park and Canaryville 

West Side: anything east of Pulaski 

My 2 cents :-)

@Seedartha Copital I am an investor and Realtor; however, I stay in DuPage and Kane counties just because that is where I am familiar with. I have an investor who just closed on a great  deal in Chicago. I am following this post to educate myself! If you need an agent I have two amazing associates who only work in Chicago; I know they can help.

Patrice Boenzi, Real Estate Agent in IL (#475.171513)
630-234-7375

Hey Seedartha,

Look into Ravenswood and Lincoln Square areas. Some homes are new construction and in the $800,000-1 mil range and others on the block are older, need rehab work and are likely to appreciate in value given their lower acquisition costs and all the other gorgeous homes being built in the area.

Also, great elementary school district! Only 6 miles or so from downtown area.

@Seedartha Copital , I think the city has a number of great places to invest in! I like looking into neighbors that the city or large companies are looking to invest in. Reading the newspaper or Crain's Chicago Business, you'll hear about big investors coming in and move accordingly.

On the south side I like little village and on the north side I like Albany Park. Specifically the area around Montrose from California to Kimball. It's going to be tough to find a deal in Ravenswood and Lincoln Square right now.