New to wholesaling & want to learn more before wasting time.

11 Replies

Hello everyone , I'm new to wholesale but I bought a list of absentee owners in my state(Illinois) & before I try to get property under contract , I've been reading David Greene book "BRRRR" & taking what he said about wholesalers & try to be the opposite of that. , 1. I just need to know how to approach them to get them to sell. 2. How to find buyers & 3. What investors/buyers are looking for when buying from a wholesaler. Thanks in advance & I hope to get someone answers. If there any real estate agents , contractors, property managers, investors ,lenders who may be interested, please also comment , thanks!!

Hi Charles. Good for you for taking the first steps to make things happen. As an investor in Illinois I would be looking for deals to be presented to me with some details. Obviously the price you are looking for but also a breakdown of repair costs (rough estimate is fine but more specific the better) and ARV and how you came up with the ARV. If you present a deal and it is fairly in line with my inspection/assessment of the property you will gain my trust. I would also want to know if you are assigning the deal to me or actually purchasing it and reselling it. If I look at it and it is completely off from what you described then I probably will not consider you a credible source in the future. Obviously if you are just beginning then I will factor in a learning curve into the variances and not a one strike and you are out mentality.

Also, where are you located and what area(s) are you looking to find properties?

@Paul Brown