South Jersey, Philly, or Delaware?

28 Replies

Hi everyone,

I have been actively looking for a small multifamily home in South Jersey (specifically, Gloucester, Camden, and Burlington counties) to house hack. So far, I haven't been able to find anything that may be a deal and that is also something I would want to live in. I am keeping an open mind and may expand my search to Philly and Delaware, but since my day job is in NJ, I would like to stay here. Does anyone have any experience with these markets? Should I change my criteria, or should i just be patient and wait for the right property to come along in Jersey? I am brand new to REI, so any advice and suggestions are much appreciated!

I have done a handful of small multi family deals in Philly, starting out with house hacking. Good deals are hard to find. Your best bet is to open up on what you are willing to live in. To get a deal with a decent margin you are going to have to be willing to either force improvements through rehabbing it over time, buy on the fringe of an improving neighborhood, or both.

@Eric Luzier - Keep patient with the search and make sure you are working with a quality agent like @Stephen Kappre . South Jersey has a ton of really good multi-family deals but there is a considerable amount of bad deals in MFH where prices have crept up as more people look for them. Your best bet is Gloucester County and Southern Camden County. Gloucester City, Oaklyn, Clayton, Glassboro, and even Blackwood all MFHs where you can househack and be only a couple hundred dollars out of pocket.

If you want to break even you could venture down to Vineland/Milville/Salem but you have to be prepared for a longer commute north and have a thicker hide.

Best Luck!