How to qualify a title attorney?

4 Replies

Lots of posts on how to qualify GCs but what about a good attorney?  Referrals are great (and any are welcome in the San Antonio, TX area) but what should I want to know?  The practice areas I want are:

- Real estate (title stuff, real estate contracts)

- Business Law (GC contracts, incorporation etc)

Being an attorney myself when I hire other attorneys I just try to figure out their work style, expertise and look at their educational and professional background. Referal is even better. I have seen lots of attorneys who have expertise but couldn't respond within 2 weeks to simple stuff and I've seen some attorneys with basically no expertise too.

Originally posted by @Corbett Brasington :

Lots of posts on how to qualify GCs but what about a good attorney?  Referrals are great (and any are welcome in the San Antonio, TX area) but what should I want to know?  The practice areas I want are:

- Real estate (title stuff, real estate contracts)

- Business Law (GC contracts, incorporation etc)

When I first read the heading, I thought you were talking about title attorneys - as in, one who has a fee office or was an underwriter for title insurance.  There are lots of different areas of practice (and I say "areas of practice" because the Texas Board of Legal Specialization is the gatekeeper for lawyer's use of the word "specialization").  There's residential and commercial real estate law, business law, consumer law, securities law, commercial law, corporate finance law, etc. etc. etc.  Then there's the transactional (deal-making) and litigation (deal-breaking) dichotomy within each area.

There are some basic vetting that apply to all industries and some thoughts that are applicable to only lawyers.  

For the basics: good, fast, or cheap - pick 2 out of 3 but you won't get all 3.  I hope you've heard this adage before.