Setting up LLC in Houston, tx questions?

14 Replies

Hello Biggerpockets community,

I am setting up a single member (my husband and i) llc for myself, llc will only be used for managing one long term rentals property. Do you recommend I use myself as a registered agent or company that provides that service? Do i also need an operating agreement for LLC since it's a single member llc? Does anyone have a word format of operating agreement that you are willing to share? Are there any good lawyers and CPE in houston that you can recommend?

Thank you 

It depends on how much you care about having your home address on a public document.  Some of my clients care a lot, others don't.  By the way, if someone just spends a few minutes on google, they can figure out your home address.

Yes, it would be good practice to have an operating agreement - usually banks and title companies would require it, even if you are the sole member.

I am an attorney and can refer you to my CPA (I assume that is what you meant and not CPE)

@Ivy Markov yes you can act as your own registered agent with no problems. You'll save yourself on fees doing this. Like @Ethan G. Mentioned, you'll have to list your physical address on the docs if you are the registered agent.

I would also +1 on creating an operating agreement and also create articles of incorporation which will be on file with the state. Operating agreement is an internal doc banks and companies that you work with will want to see. Articles of incorporation are generally public and define the setup of your LLC. Although I am in business with my wife we still have these documents set up.

I am a big fan of NOLO's books on LLCs, Tax, and incorporating. They are straightforward and informative. These will save you on lawyers fees until you get to a point where you'll want to invest in an attorney for lock-tite documents that create corporate veil protections.

This is a great bundle which will help your knowledge on LLCs and Tax: