Non-refundable damage deposits?

25 Replies

Hi everyone!

This is my first time starting a new lease that was not an inherited tenant. Luckily i got pretty lucky with the inherited tenants, i know thats usually against the rules ;) 

I am looking for advice on damage deposits and non refundable damage deposits more specifically. My father owns a few properties in Marysville, my property is in Mt. Vernon. My father told me to collect $300 as a non -returnable fee, for cleaning etc, as well as first months rent of course ($1200), a $900 refundable security deposit (with the fee totaling 1200) . They also have a small dog, so we are charging them only $20 / month pet fee, as well as $200 non refundable pet fee and $800 refundable pet deposit.

I am not sure about all of these non refundable fees and deposits. I want to make sure i am covered, but we also are renting to mutual friends, which i was unsure about. Is this pretty standard to have non refundable fees for cleaning etc? 

Thanks for the help!

Primarily, make sure the deposits that you collect are within legal limits. In my state, NJ, landlords cannot collect more than 1.5 times rent as a security deposit (last month's rent is considered security deposit also). Also, there is no such thing as a non-refundable deposit. Your lease should call it a move in fee or it should be a (refundable) security deposit. To call it a non-refundable deposit puts ambiguity in your language.

@Blake King I also collect last month's rent on top of what you are collecting. Renting to friends and family can go badly. We rented to my MIL for about 20 years.............she was a fine tenant but not so much financiallyI Don't think we ever raised her rent! LOL

It is crucial to give them a move-in checklist to limit disputes when they move out. This affects what you can withhold from damage deposit.