Landlord Policy Advise

24 Replies | Huntsville, Alabama

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone could give me advise on landlord policy.  I'll be closing on my first rental property soon, and I've been shopping around for insurance quotes.  Below are 2 quotes I received: 

1) $1,723/yr for 300k liability, 225k dwelling with $2,500 deductible

2) $1,982/yr for 500k liability, 267k dwelling with $1,000 deductible

I'm thinking to do $2,500 deductible for lower monthly payment but unsure about how much liability coverage I would need and should get.  I was also wondering if those quotes seem fair for landlord policies in zip 35758.  Any advise would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Jessie

Promotion
Roofstock
Buy & sell single-family rentals online
Radically accessible real estate investing
Get access to exclusive property listings, proprietary data, and support to build your portfolio.
Learn More

Hey Jessie,

Those rates seem a bit high to me. I am a broker for a small independent insurance agency, which means we can get policies from many different carriers. We have really good carriers for rental properties. I can PM you and get a quote for you if you'd like! 

I'd also recommend a 500k liability limit and a $2,500 deductible. Then if I were you, I would require your renters to get renter's insurance (which many times costs less than $20/mo). That covers you really well in case anything happens, and it won't cost you an arm and a leg!

Originally posted by @Bill Brandt :

Where are these properties located? Those quotes are seriously almost triple what I am paying on $300-$500k SFR properties in Las Vegas.

This is in Huntsville, AL. I was able to get something else for almost 1/3 of the two quotes with same coverage. I wonder why the huge price difference though.

@Jessie Kristie  

Originally posted by @Jessie Kristie