Single vs. Multi-family

9 Replies | Los Angeles County, California

Is purchasing an MDU an aggressive move for a first-time buyer? I live in the LA County area so the cost of housing is exorbitant and I know an MDU would require more capital. Just looking for some guidance since I'm new to the process. Any advice is appreciated! 

@Andrew Lawlor Purchasing anything in Los Angeles is aggressive if your goal is to cash flow.  If you're looking to flop that may be possible.

Updated almost 3 years ago

*flip* not flop.

Originally posted by @Andrew Lawlor :

Is purchasing an MDU an aggressive move for a first-time buyer? I live in the LA County area so the cost of housing is exorbitant and I know an MDU would require more capital. Just looking for some guidance since I'm new to the process. Any advice is appreciated! 

Hi Andrew. A duplex or triplex may be possible depending on where you are looking and your capital. I want to move from single family into multifamily myself, but I will say that as a newer investor, 2 or 3 or however many sets of tenants can prove to be more work than one, and you want to be mindful of that. I don't think it hurts to start with a single family or two and grow from there. 

@Andrew Lawlor

Hi Andrew,

Welcome to BP. I think everyone's situation is different, and each person's journey in discovering the kind of investor they want to be can be discovered by trial & error, or education through partnering with someone or learning through the books, podcasts or forums available to you. 

IF you have the funds to purchase a place in LA, then you can begin looking at options around you, You also have to recognize that if you purchase a place and inherit the tenants, all the downsides that come with rent control, the eviction process and of course the time and stress that can be associated with it. If that sounds like a challenge you want to take on, then there can be plenty of financial rewards.