Imperial Beach Market

8 Replies

BP San Diego,

Is anyone familiar with the Imperial Beach Market? My wife and I are looking at purchasing a SFH in the IB area to live in for 3-5 years before renting it out. We currently own a MFH in Logan Heights so I am new to the IB area. I am speculating it will sustain some growth in the future with the addition of the Navy Special Warfare compound, but is anyone else investing in IB right now?

I have been looking at the properties currently on market and was quite surprised how much house you can get for the price within 2 miles of a beach. I know Imperial Beach has some mixed reviews based on location and current demographics but it seems like purchasing a value-add property might not be a bad idea. Any thoughts on what the IB market might do in the near future?

@Christopher Gallardo Hello there Christopher, I'd be happy to share with you my market knowledge for IB. There are a few KPI's that make IB an emerging market. EX: Hotels, trendy restaurants, and other key drivers that are responsible for the slow gentrification that we are seeing now. I will send you a pm if you'd like to talk more about it.

IB has some rough areas but if you are currently in Logan Heights, I doubt it would be a shock to you.

I agree that IB has some reasonable cost RE for being close to the ocean.  Long ago we almost purchased a unit less than 100' from the beach but I witnessed significant drug dealing out of a small apartment complex that was across the street. so we purchased in Chula Vista instead.