What is your day like?

10 Replies

I am curious for those of you who regularly post on BP to hear a little about how you spend your time. Are you full time in another career during the day and real estate at night? Or are you full time in real estate and if so, how much time a day are you spending on your business? Is it mostly managing tenants or finding deals? 

I will start out. I have a 7:30AM-5:30PM M-F day job in marketing (non real estate). I spend some nights and weekends looking at real estate, but really comes in spurts. I manage my own properties and do many of my own repairs. I am probably spending on average 8 hours a month on that portion, more when I have a vacancy. 

I am curious to hear how others spend their day.

Joe,

I work full time as a Network Engineer, so 7a - 3p M-F is reserved for my job.  However, I'm able to monitor my personal email and respond to anything that comes up in the RE business that don't require me to be there physically.  

In my downtime on lunch or breaks I check the MLS an any alerts that I setup for new deals. I flag those new deals for analysis and upload them into trello. After running numbers and getting a ball park max offer price, I can then schedule to see the property after work. After reviewing the property I decide whether my initial estimates are valid or need adjusting and then put in an offer if I want to proceed. Once under contract, I validate all of my assumptions by getting an inspection, quotes, CMA ect to be sure everything is on point.

When I have spare time and no deals to analyze or view, I keep up on latest market trends and strategies by reading up on BP and other blogs as well as latest building products or researching whatever current issue I'm facing in my business.