1% rule in Stockton ca?!?

17 Replies

I was chatting with a colleague about the process I use to purchase properties and I was wondering with the market rising does anyone still use the 1% rule in Stockton CA or is that hard to achieve. Thanks in advance 🙏🏾

Edmondo, we've acquired a number of MFRs this past year in Stockton and the 1% rule is pretty difficult to find in this market cycle, even in Stockton. If you want to chat more about the area, let me know. 

I’d love to chat more when you get a chance. What is the common cap rate you shoot for in this area? Thanks in advance.

so happy you posted this, i am a novice I have 2 properties 1 in the weston Ranch area that barely seem to meet the rule. although the property was purchased at a great price (185k ) i have to many rental properties in the area with lower rents. im anxiously wanting another deal in stockton but i need to figure out how to make the numbers work

Awesome! Hopefully we can both learn some vital information on our area.

I am looking for investment properties that meet 1% rule in Stockton area. I could find one or two in Fresno CA but not in Stockton. What is the average CAP rate in Stockton, Modesto, Sacramento areas? Any thoughts on Fresno?

I am coming up with the same exact results and have also migrated my search to Fresno where I am finding better luck on meeting the 1% rule. You’d have to reach out to a good local realtor but most of the research that I’ve done has resulted in cap rates of 7-8 currently.

there are a few deals in stockton that meet the 1% rule but you really have to search and be networked with brokers.  Picked up a 16 unit in stockton recently that does better than 1% and have a few on my radar that i'm analyizing.

As for cap rates, around 6% or more with GRM's under 11. Hard to find, yes, but be patient and deals are there.

That’s great to hear Paul Choi...thanks for your input. Do you mind sharing more details about the 16 unit you purchased?

@Edmondo Morgan Jr