Miami Beach Sinking?

8 Replies

Hi. We are looking at buying a condo in Hollywood Beach area. I've done some research and it sounds like the low elevation areas are possibly going to sink over the next few decades. Also, it seems like foreign buyers looking for a tax shelter make up a big percentage of buyers. Can anyone offer insight into the market? We're from the Midwest and unfamiliar. 

Hi Madeline, I’m not a scientist... so I’m not sure about sinking land and rising sea levels. I do live in a nice condo on Collins Ave in Miami Beach, and I can tell you things seem to be heating up quickly around here. It’s certainly still a buyers market with condos, but my fellow eXp agents are doing very well with rentals and condo sales. There are brand new buildings going up and the voters even voted a project in on South Beach. In other words, for all practical money purposes, business is in full swing here. If you’re talking about retiring here, then yeah I’d listen to the scientists. And yes there are so many foreign cash buyers in MB, however not sure about Hollywood beach. Hope this local perspective helped!

Interesting question, and one, that might not receive enough attention within our industry. Thank goodness, it has been the focus of local governments, with Miami Beach actually leading the way. 

To put things in perspective, almost the entire Eastern seaboard (including Manhattan) is in a flood zone and could possibly sink. The difference between most of the Eastern seaboard & Miami Dade county is our building code which takes possible flooding (and high winds) into account - this is by the way one reason why it's pricy to purchase here - our cost of construction is higher (partially because of higher standards) than most of the U.S. 

One example you might have heard of are Miami-Dade county approved impact windows are actually the golden standard for the product.