Security Deposit, Check Not Cashed

5 Replies | Chicago, Illinois

The Chicago Ordinance is very strict as it relates to security deposits for non-owner occupied properties.   Many, request move-in fees instead.

What happens when a check used for the deposit is not cashed? Is that a violation of the ordinance or a trick to avoid getting in trouble with the law. 

@Frank S. I think most people would tell you to talk to an attorney due to the complexity involved in the Chicago laws. I would also recommend that you take a move in fee in lieu of a deposit. It seems to be the way most smart people are moving these days in Chicago. Now if you are in Cook County but not Chicago, I would still recommend doing a security deposit. 

@Frank S. , that's a difficult question to answer on a thread. As an attorney, I would not respond via a thread because the question would require me or any attorney to review the lease and compare versus the requirements of Chicago's Ordinance. 

The second part of the question, I don't think can even be answered as it requires knowledge of the landlord's intent. As a landlord, I would not take a security deposit check just to sit on it. My need to mitigate any future liability from RLTO is not that great that I would leave myself exposed without any type of move in fee or security deposit just to have a potential defense, which to be honest, doesn't even sound like much of a defense. 

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Investor-Friendly Agents in Chicago
Work with an agent who understands your needs as an investor and helps you find the best deals.
Find Your Agent Now
Originally posted by @Frank S. :

The Chicago Ordinance is very strict as it relates to security deposits for non-owner occupied properties.   Many, request move-in fees instead.

What happens when a check used for the deposit is not cashed? Is that a violation of the ordinance or a trick to avoid getting in trouble with the law.