Extent of Rehab?

12 Replies

I have a question with regards to the extent of rehabs for the seasoned flippers here.

In my area of New England we have a tremendous amount of older homes, and a lot of the homes I'm coming across have some very uneven floors. I'm just getting started in REI, house flipping to begin with, and have put offers in on more than a few homes over the course of the last three months. I've been a remodeling general contractor for a lot of years and most of that work has been in higher end homes where we either try to correct these issues or the homeowner wants to maintain the "character". My inclination is that I'm probably overstating the necessary improvements to what I've been doing for years versus what an average home requires, and therefore out bidding myself.

So my question is, using the uneven floors as a sample, as long as there are no structural issues, is this a turn-off for the average homeowner that I should be pricing in for correction or just refinish as is? Un-even floors lead to uneven doors and uneven ceilings and so on. Not my style but is it good enough for most?

Thanks in advance!

@John Snow If you were buying the house, what would you expect? Do you honestly think anyone considers uneven floors character? Character would be various molding and trim items, leaded glass windows, cast iron tubs, tray ceilings, etc., not floors that have become uneven over the years due to moisture or settling of the house. Look at what is selling in the neighborhood, prices being paid, and what the homes were like. You don't want to over improve for the neighborhood, but you don't want to be known as someone that does shoddy work either, especially if you make a living as a contractor!

Medium house plansKaren Margrave, Parlay Investments | [email protected] | http://www.parlayinvestments.com | CA Contractor # 680782

I agree with Karen 100%

Couldn't have said it better than Karen.